Chorley Building Society

Northern League
Reader Cricket Balls
2019 - to-date
Batting and Bowling
Record Holders
Batting and Bowling Averages
by Year
Results by Year

3D Sports


Founded: 1865. Joined Northern League: 2019


Taken from the Palace Shield 2002 Centenary Booklet

A previous Longridge Cricket Club joined the Palace Shield in 1906, when the League went under the name of the "Alhambra Competition", consisting of ten teams.
The club's first game in the competition was against Great Eccleston on the 28th April 1906. Longridge lost the match being bowled out for a paltry 32.
The next two fixtures, against Blackpool and Fleetwood, were rained off would you believe.

The club did however secure its first victory in the league at home to St. Annes on 26th May, St. Annes being bowled out for 37.
A report of a match v Kirkam on 4th August 1906, rescued from the archives by club stalwart and memorabilia man W.J. Gornall, reads as follows:

"The Longridge team set an example on Saturday that other clubs might well do to follow for, although they hail from the most distant points in the area from which the clubs are drawn, they will all be on the field ready to play by ten minutes to three, the result being that before 5 o clock, the game had ended."

There was no mention in the report of Longridge being bowled out for 26

Although the club was founded in 1929, a medal has recently come into our possession. It was presented to a Mr W Taylor for winning the batting averages in season 1896

Longridge left the competition in 1908 and went on to play in the Peston and District League" until re-joining the Palace Shield in 1969.
Shortly after, the club became "Longridge Cricket & Hockey Club", a partnership that was to last until 1995 when the hockey section broke away due to the introduction of artificial pitches.

The club introduced a 3rd team to play Saturday cricket in 1992 under the auspices of Mr Peter Tuson.
The club is eternally grateful to Peter for getting this going and seeing it through.
Starting in the "Preston & District League", the team joined the Shield competition in 1995 with the formation of E Division and became the inaugural winners. The team also became first ever winners of the Crabtree Cup in 1997.

Due to the generosity of our landlord Mr George Newsham, the club now owns the ground and our future would appear secure. We are now also leasing a field across the road with a view to developing a new purpose built ground for our 1st and 2nd teams.

The club has continued to prosper in recent years and supports the Palace Shield competition wholeheartedly, fielding teams in A, B, E and F divisions as well as junior teams in the under 17, under 15, under 13 and under 11 competitions.

We are now established as one of the strongest clubs in the Competition.
Achievements, particularly over the past ten years, have been notable, winning the championship of all divisions on several occasions, the highlight being the hat-trick of successes in winning the Palace Shield 1996-1998.
The Meyler Cup has been won twice and the Loxham Cup and Crabtree Cup three times each.

There are many, many individuals who have contributed to the development and success of our club going back over 100 years now, but none more so than Mr Tom Haworth who can only be described as Mr Longridge Cricket Club, and without whom the club would not have survived.


Trophy Name Awarded For Won in

William Sharples Cup Division Two (C) Runner Up 1994, 1995, 1997, 2000, 2001

Shaw Cup Division Three (D) Winner 1968, 1973, 1980, 1992, 2013, 2016

Charles W Walsh Trophy Division Four (E) Winner 1995, 1998, 2012

Tom Croft Trophy Division Four (E) Winner 1996, 1997, 1999

Micheal Dunn Trophy Division Five Winner 2014

Carr Trophy Division Six Winner 2010

Moore & Smalley Trophy Sunday Division (F) Winnersun 1998

Taylor Trophy Sunday Division (F) Runner Upsun 1997, 1999

Meyler Cup Winner of Meyler Cup KO 1990, 1994, 2009

Steven Kennedy Cup Runner Up in Meyler Cup KO 1988, 1993, 2002

Loxham Cup Winner of Loxham Cup KO 1984, 1987, 2001, 2009, 2012, 2015, 2016, 2017

British Aerospace Cup Runner Up in Loxham KO 1986, 1990, 1999, 2000, 2003

Crabtree Cup Winner of Crabtree Cup 1997, 1998, 1999

John Richardson Cup Runner Up in Crabtree Cup KO 2014

Supersports T20 RU Runners up in Twenty20 Cup 2016

T20 Div 2 Runners Up Runners up in T20 Division 2 Cup 2015, 2017

Brian Gill Trophy Under 10s Winner 2008, 2013

John Sharp Trophy Under 10s Runners Up 2007

Tony Poxon Trophy Under 11s Winner 2015

Graham Lawton Trophy Under 12s Winner 2015, 2016

Dutton Forshaw Trophy Under 13s Winner 1996, 2004, 2016, 2017

Fred H. Alty Trophy Under 13s Runner Up 1997, 1999, 2006, 2007

Tom Howarth Trophy Under 13s Plate Winner 2015

Under 14s Winner 2016, 2017

Tom Jenkins Trophy Under 15s Winner 1992, 2003, 2016

Jim Gledhill Trophy Under 15s Runner Up 1986, 2008, 2017

Frank Henry Trophy Under 15 Plate Winner 2009

Rose Trophy Under 17s Winner 1976, 1979

Courtaulds Trophy Under 17 Runners Up 1981, 2004, 2008, 2012

Key to notes

sun - The Sunday Competition has had various formats. 1996-2005 - Divison F, 2006-2007 - Two Sections, 2008 Decided by Playoff, 2009- Two Divisions

jw - Joint Winner


Longridge Cricket Club
"Newsham Memorial Ground"
Chipping Road
Tel. 07542-461326




Club Officials

Mr Tom Howarth

Ian Barton
Mobile: 07966 483411
Email: ianbartonprint@gmail.com

Jim Blackhurst
Mobile: 07970 260640;
Email: james@jigsaw-training.co.uk

Hon Treasurer:
Chris Smith
Mobile: 07889 540309

Hon Secretary:
Dave Wilson
Mobile: 07828 298105;
Email: dawilson@btinternet.com

Club Welfare Officer:
Shaun Cockell
Mobile: 07798 810858

Northern League Committee Member
Tim Greenwood
Mobile: 07710 173268

1st Team Captain:
Nick Wilkinson
Mobile: 07971 477230

Holders of Club Office for years 2018 - to-date


Click Here to send your comments.