Chorley Building Society

Northern League
Reader Cricket Balls

3D Sports

Match Day Sunday 24th August 2011

Readers Cup semi-finals reports

Leyland to host Kendal in D1 final

Fox Lane will stage the Readers Cup D1 Final on 21 August

Leyland will entertain Kendal in the Readers Cup Final at Fox Lane on Sunday 21 August (1pm).

In the semi-finals played last Sunday (7 August) Leyland defeated Netherfield at Parkside Road by four wickets while Kendal defeated St Annes at Shap Road by five runs.

Leyland were indebted to pro Brett Pelser who hit an undefeated 61 off 65 balls as they overhauled Netherfield's 202/6 with three overs to spare. Pelser received good support from Karl Cross, who made 42 off 40 balls and Andrew Makinson whose unbeaten 26 came off only 13 balls and included three fours and two sixes.

Earlier Ben Barrow, promoted to no3, hit a superb 90 off 105 balls including nine fours and one six for Netherfield.

Kiwi Test star Jamie How was Kendal's hero against St Annes. How made 66 off 77 balls including four sixes in his side's 188/9.

Jack White made 31 in the middle order, adding 74 for the fifth wicket with How and skipper Chris Miller made 27 off 13 balls with Stu Parkin blasting two sixes in a late onslaught. Ben Dowling took 3/39 and Atiq Uz-Zaman 3/29.

Kiwi sub-pro George Worker kept his side in the game after the visitors were reduced to 155/9, How taking six wickets.

Worker launched a valiant late flurry and had moved onto 89 when he was superbly caught on the boundary by How off Chris Miller with just one ball remaining in a thrilling finish.

In Readers Cup Division Two Leyland will travel to play Fleetwood in the final at Broadwater on Sunday 4 September (1pm).

Leyland defeated Barrow by 122 runs at Fox Lane. Wes Royle made 52 and Nathan McDonnell 40 in Leyland's 195. Barrow conceded 46 extras including 22 wides and 16 no balls, with Steven Pallett taking 5/13 to help dismiss the visitors for 73 in reply.

Andy Singleton hit 72, Zack Coultas 47 and skipper Wayne Clarke 35 in Fleetwood's 208/7 against Chorley at Broadwater.

Chorley were dismissed for 128 in reply, Neil Gregson taking 4/25.

Readers Cup Semi - Finals

Division One

Netherfield v Leyland

Leyland won by 4 wickets

Netherfield 202 - 6 (B Barrow 90), Leyland 204 - 6 (B Pelser 61*)

Kendal v St Annes

Kendal won by 5 runs

Kendal 188 - 9 (J How 66), St Annes 183 (G Worker 89, J How 6-39)

Division Two

Leyland v Barrow

Leyland won by 122 runs

Leyland 195 (W Royle 52), Barrow 73 (S Pallett 5-13)

Fleetwood v Chorley

Fleetwood won by 80 runs

Fleetwood 208 - 7 (A Singleton 72, Z Coultas 47), Chorley 128 (N Gregson 4-25)

   Click Here to send your comments.