Chorley Building Society

Northern League
Reader Cricket Balls

3D Sports

Match Day Sunday 22nd May 2011

RESULTS 22nd May 2011

Third win in four for Colts

Ben Simm struck 52 in Lancaster's defeat at Eagley

Lancashire Colts earned their third win in four games in the Furness Building Society Northern Premier Cricket League (incorporating Readers Cricket Balls) when they defeated 2010 runners-up Barrow in a low-scoring game at Ernest Pass.

The Colts' three wins this season have all come batting second and after successes at Fleetwood and champions Leyland they edged home by two wickets against Chris D'Leny's side.

After being invited to bat Barrow were dismissed for 98 in 35.2 overs with opening bowler Alex Matthews taking 5/33 from 13 overs.

Colts' wicketkeeper Will Loosemore collected four catches behind the stumps including the prize wicket of Barrow pro Pieter Malan for 21 off the bowling of Matthews.

Colts skipper Jason Swift took three catches in the outfield with only Barrow skipper D'Leny providing prolonged resistance. D'Leny battled through 52 balls for the top-score of 22. Curtis Maguire took 2/14 with Adam Hodgkins and Ross Dixon each taking one wicket while last man Gary Collins was run out by Matthews.

Barrow fought hard in the field, former skipper Daryl Wearing taking 4/36 and left arm spinner Collins taking 2/14. Oliver Law hit 31 off 70 balls but Colts slipped from 67/3 to 87/8 before Hodgkins (22 not out) and Captain Swift (1 not out) steered them home in a tense finish.

Furness Building Society Northern Premier Cricket League (incorporating Readers Cricket Balls)

Division 1

Barrow v Lancashire Colts

Lancashire Colts (12pts) defeated Barrow (2pts) by 2wickets

Barrow 98 (A Matthews 5/33), Lancashire Colts 100/8 (D Wearing 4/36)


Barrow v Lancashire Colts
Click Here

Photographs courtesy of Ian Allington

NKO wins for Morecambe, Darwen and Preston

In the ECB National Club Championship Preston achieved the day's outstanding result when they defeated Liverpool Competition champions Lytham at West Cliff.

In a match reduced to 20 overs per side by the weather Preston bowled out the visitors for 125 with Saeed Bariwala taking three wickets. Fayaz Ugradar made 51 and skipper Anthony Mulligan 41.

Sajid Patel led Preston's victory charge with 54 with good support from Mohsin Modhi (35) and skipper Lukman Vahaluwala was unbeaten on 17 when his side reached their target with five balls to spare.

There were two all Northern League clashes with Darwen winning at Kendal and Morecambe defeating St Annes.

Darwen pro Mohammad Zaman Khan hit 88 and then took 4/11 at Shap Road as his side won by 27 runs. The in-form Chris Clarke made 73 in Darwen's 214/9, Stu Parkin taking 4/34.

Nick Phillips hit 51 in Kendal's reply but the home side were bowled out for 187.

Josh Dixon batted throughout the Morecambe innings to make an unbeaten 93 in his side's 209/6 at Woodhill Lane. Skipper Mark Woodhead made 39 with teenager Matthew Taaffe taking 3/37 on his first-team debut.

St Annes looked to be cruising as they reached 137/2 in reply but James Law changed the game when he bowled Atiq Uz-Zaman for a superb 98. The last eight St Annes wickets fell for 39 runs as Morecambe won by 33 runs.

Lancaster bowed out of the competition when they lost by 37 runs at Bolton League side Eagley. Phil Ingram, the Eagley captain hit an accomplished 81 in his side's 211/7 before falling to teenager Dan Chambers, Liam Moffat taking 3/28. Leg-spinner Alex Metcalfe took 1/25 and Tom Burrow 1/29 as Lancaster bowled and fielded tightly.

Liam Moffat took 3/28 for Lancaster

Skipper Michael Stevens and Iain Burstow added 56 for the first wicket but Stevens was caught behind after batting fluently for 37. David Heywood was crucially run out from the deep after batting comfortably. Promoted in the order to no5 Ben Simm struck 52 off 48 balls with good support from Chambers (20) and Moffat (14) but Lancaster were bowled out for 174.

David Heywood was crucially run out for 14 in Lancaster's defeat at Eagley

In the semi-final stage of the ECB National Club Championship the three remaining Northern League sides are Morecambe, Preston and Darwen.

In Group 4 Morecambe are at home to Bolton League side Horwich and in Group 5 Preston entertain Liverpool Competition opposition again, this time Ormskirk. In Group 6, Darwen travel to face the winners of the tie involving Colwyn Bay and Roe Green.

Ties are due to be played on or before 19 June.

Lancaster's Iain Burstow, Michael Stevens and David Heywood watch the action intently


Eagley v Lancaster
Click Here

   Click Here to send your comments.