Chorley Building Society

Northern League
Reader Cricket Balls

3D Sports

Match Day 19th June 2011

Readers Cup Results 19 June 2011

Holders Darwen knocked out by Leyland

Morecambe's Chris Williams (right) returns with Liam Watkinson after Cumberland's thrilling victory

Readers Cup holders Darwen suffered a first round knock-out at Fox Lane in defence of their trophy. Darwen made 171/9; Niall Burke hitting 52 off 78 balls with Andrew Makinson and Karl Cross each taking three wickets.

Luis Reece then hit 89 off 106 balls and shared a decisive third wicket stand of 79 with pro Brett Pelser (43) as Leyland won by five wickets with 4.1 overs in hand.

Kendal's Kiwi international pro Jamie How blasted a superb 131 in his side's Readers Cup win at Morecambe. How hit 12 fours and six sixes and faced just 98 balls. He shared in two century partnerships; 109 for the first wicket with Gary Baker (34) and 100 for the third with Gareth Ashburner (26).

Morecambe pro Anwar Ali then took four wickets in four balls in the 37th over, those of Ashburner, How, Nick Lewthwaite and Darren Nightingale and finished with 6/10 from his eight overs.

Kendal made 243/8 and Morecambe finished just short on 232/6 despite 34 from makeshift opener Tommy Clough, 38 from Lewis Edge and a fine 74 from Ryan Smith.

Blackpool pro Con De Lange had a fine all round game in his side's comfortable victory over a weakened Carnforth side at Stanley Park. De Lange took 4/15 as the visitors were dismissed for 134 in 39.5 overs and then hit 59. Craig Brown was unbeaten on 39 as Blackpool won by eight wickets with 21 overs to spare.

Netherfield beat Preston by 31 runs at Parkside Road, Ben Haddrick hitting 86 off 93 balls in his side's 215/6. Ben Barrow made 36 not out. Preston were 184/7 at the close.

Lancashire Colts marked their first game in the competition with a six wickets win at Fleetwood. Opener Ammer Mirza hit an unbeaten 52 off 87 balls to steer the Colts home after the home side had been dismissed for 115. Opener Adam Sharrocks made 58 for the home side off 99 balls with Joe Hawke and Zafir Patel each taking three wickets.

Iain Kermode hit an unbeaten 60 to see Barrow home by six wickets against Lancaster at Ernest Pass, skipper Chris D'Leny making 57 after Tom Burrow had removed openers Guy Heffernan and pro Pieter Malan cheaply. Lancaster were indebted to Ben Simm's 51 off 60 balls and David Heywood's 43 off 67 balls as they posted 156/9, Iain Kermode taking 3/30 and Malan 3/41.

In Division Two Luke Smith made 42 and Nick Wall 39 as Blackpool won by seven wickets at Carnforth. Reuben Bragg hit an unbeaten 51 in Carnforth's 101. Mark Phillips hit 51 not out to steer Kendal home by five wickets against Morecambe at Shap Road.

Leyland beat Darwen by 106 runs at Birch Hall, Ian Dickinson hitting 83 in his side's 226/7. Darwen mustered 120 in reply. Dan Myles hit 78 as Barrow earned a convincing win at Lune Road against Lancaster while Preston beat Netherfield at West Cliff.

Six Northern League cricketers dream of Lord's

Meanwhile six Northern League cricketers are dreaming of a Lord's appearance after Cumberland defeated Herefordshire by one wicket with one ball to spare in the MCCA Trophy quarter-final at Brockhampton.

Cumberland will now play Berkshire in the semi-final at Falkland CC on Sunday, 3 rd July with the final to be staged at Lord's.

Herefordshire piled up an imposing 301/9 at Brockhampton, Barrow's Liam Livingstone taking 3/43.

Cumberland captain Gary Pratt hit a magnificent 105 as Cumberland won by one wicket with one ball remaining, Morecambe's Chris Williams hitting the winning run.

Morecambe's Ikram Ullah leg-glances during his 64 for Cumberland>

Ikram Ullah (Morecambe) made 64 and Barrow's Graham Dawson 28 (including four sixes) in Cumberland's successful runs chase. Jon Miles (Kendal) and Alex Atkinson (Netherfield) were also in the Cumberland side.

Barrow's Graham Dawson hit four sixes for Cumberland

The scorecard can be found here:

Kendal's Jon Miles has a scenic backdrop at Brockhampton

Readers Cup First Round

Division One

Blackpool v Carnforth

Blackpool won by 8 wickets

Carnforth 134 (C De Lange 4/15), Blackpool 139/2 (C De Lange 59)

Barrow v Lancaster

Barrow won by 6 wickets

Lancaster 156/9 (B Simm 51, D Heywood 43), Barrow 160/4 (I Kermode 60no, D'Leny 57)

Fleetwood v Lancashire Colts

Lancashire Colts won by 5 wickets

Fleetwood 115 (A Sharrocks 58), Colts 118/4 (A Mirza 52no)

Leyland v Darwen

Leyland won by 5 wickets

Darwen 171/9 (N Burke 52), Leyland 173/5 (L Reece 89, B Pelser 43)

Morecambe v Kendal

Kendal won by 11 runs

Kendal 243/8 (J How 131, Anwar Ali 6/10 including 4wkts in 4 balls), Morecambe 232/6 (R Smith 74)

Netherfield v Preston

Netherfield won by 31 runs

Netherfield 215/6 (B Haddrick 86), Preston 184/7

Division Two

Carnforth v Blackpool

Blackpool won by 7 wickets

Carnforth 101 (R Bragg 51no), Blackpool 102/3 (L Smith 42)

Darwen v Leyland

Leyland won by 106 runs

Leyland 226/7 (I Dickinson 86), Darwen 120 (S Jackson 44)

Kendal v Morecambe

Kendal won by 5 wickets

Morecambe 137 (I Izzat 49), Kendal 138/5 (M Phillips 51no)

Lancaster v Barrow

Barrow won by 146 runs

Barrow 218/4 (D Myles 78), Lancaster 72

Preston v Netherfield

Preston won by 34 runs

Preston 144, Netherfield 110

MCCA Trophy Quarter-final (at Brockhampton CC)

Herefordshire v Cumberland

Cumberland won by one wicket

Herefordshire 301/9 (50 overs) (FH Shahid 74, CW Boroughs 73), Cumberland 302/9 (49.5 overs) (GJ Pratt 105, Ikram Ullah 64, EW Sellers 4/69)

The Second round Draw is as follows:

Readers Cup Division One

10 July

St Annes v Lancashire Colts

Netherfield v Barrow

Leyland v Blackpool

Kendal v Chorley

Readers Cup Division Two

Fleetwood v St Annes

Barrow v Preston

Blackpool v Leyland

Chorley v Kendal

   Click Here to send your comments.